WG1: Fundamental science studies

André Xuereb
University of Malta

Vice Leader:
Simon Groeblacher
Delft University of Technology


We will set the foundations of the research programme within QTSpace, and establish the enabling ground for the experimental efforts that are at the core of the Action’s Work Plan. WG1 will thus have an explicitly enabling character, entailed by its fundamental nature. Specifically, WG1 will address three targeted tasks: 

  1. The evaluation of tests for fundamental theories in quantum mechanics, and their extensions towards implementation in a space environment; 
  2. The thorough characterization of the needs for the successful realization of fundamental quantum experiments in space environments, including the identification of the experimental regimes that would lead to the observation of potential deviations from the prescriptions of quantum mechanics. This task of WG1 will thus be instrumental to the identification of a factual roadmap for the experimental assessment of quantum tests in space; 
  3. The exploration of the possibility to realise space missions aimed at the exploration, within the realm of fundamental quantum physics, of the various platforms identified in QTSpace (from optical quantum communication to cold-atom interferometry, from matter-wave interferometry with large masses to atomic-clock technology). 

The development of the WG will take advantage of the variegate expertise available within QTSpace, which spans from the foundations of quantum mechanics to the experimental management of nano-/mesoscopic systems, from open-system dynamics to quantum optics and quantum information processing. The work performed within the WG will underpin the efforts of the other Working Groups trough a propositive, informative, and through-provoking approach to difficult questions in fundamental quantum physics. 


WG1 Members

Ulrik Andersen Technical University of Denmark (DTU) - Denmark
Aidan Arnold University of Strathclyde - UK
Serkan Ates İzmir Institute of Technology - Turkey
Marco Avesani Universita' degli studi di Padova - Italy
Angelo Bassi University of Trieste - Italy
James Bateman Swansea University - UK
Ömer Bayraktar Max Planck Institute for the Science of Light - Germany
Robert Bedington Centre for Quantum Technologies - Singapore
Alessio Belenchia IQOQI Vienna - Austria
Mohamed Benyoucef INA, University of Kassel - Germany
Daniel Braun University Tübingen - Germany
David Edward Bruschi University of York - UK
Kjetil Børkje University College of Southeast Norway - Norway
Humeyra Caglayan Tampere University of Technology - Finland
Baris Cakmak Bahcesehir University - Turkey
Steve Campbell INFN Sezione di Milano & Università degli Studi di Milano - Italy
Matteo Carlesso University of Trieste - ITALY
Catalina Oana Curceanu LNF-INFN - Italy
Eleni Diamanti CNRS, Sorbonne Université - France
Lajos Diosi Wigner Research Centre for Physics - Hungary
Sandro Donadi University of Trieste - Italy
Pedro Duque Lusospace Lda - Portugal
Kadir Durak özyeğin university - Turkey
Omid Faizy Namarvar LPT-IRSAMC & CEMES-CNRS - France
Matthias Fink Institute for Quantum Optics and Quantum Information - Vienna - Austria
Jaromir Fiurasek Palacky University Olomouc - Czech Republic
Naceur Gaaloul Institute of Quantum Optics / Leibniz University of Hanover - Germany
Christos Gagatsos University of Warwick - United Kingdom
Santanu Ganguly Cisco Systems, Liverpool John Moores University - United Kingdom
Barry Garraway University of Sussex - UK
Remi GEIGER SYRTE, Paris Observatory - France
Dr. Rüdiger Gerndt Airbus Defence and Space GmbH - Germany
Nicolas Gisin Group of Applied Physics University of Geneva Switzerland - Switzerland
Daniel Granados Fundacion IMDEA Nanociencia - Spain
Simon Groeblacher TU Delft - Netherlands
André Großardt Queen's University Belfast - United Kingdom
Jens Grosse University Bremen & DLR Bremen - Germany
Mircea Guina Tampere University of Technology - Finland
Habib Gültekin Koç University - Turkey
S. Deniz Han İstanbul University - Turkey
Radu Ionicioiu Horia Hulubei National Institute of Physics and Nuclear Engineering (IFIN-HH) - Romania
Markku Jääskeläinen Mälardalen University - Sweden
Lars M. Johansen University College of Southeast Norway - Norway
Rainer Kaltenbaek Austrian Academy of Sciences - Austria
Vyacheslavs Kashcheyevs University of Latvia - Latvia
Ahad Khaleghi Ardabili Koç University - Turkey
Nikolai Kiesel University of Vienna - Austria
Astrid Lambrecht Laboratoire Kastler Brossel CNRS, UPMC, ENS, CdF - France
Jan-Åke Larsson Linköpings Universitet - Sweden
Jean Lautier-Gaud Muquans - France
Bruno Leone European Space Agency - United Kingdom
Rupert Levene University College Dublin - Ireland
Maciej Lewenstein ICFO - Institute of Photonic Sciences - Catalonia
Ahmed M. Farouk Al-Azhar University, Faculty of Science, Mathematics Department - Egypt
Sabrina Maniscalco University of Turku - Finland
Jean Pierre Marburger JGU Mainz - Germany
Luca Mazzarella University of Strathclyde - UK
Jarosław Miszczak Institute of Theoretical and Applied Informatics, Polish Academy of Sciences - Poland
Gavin Morley University of Warwick - UK
Ozgur Mustecaplioglu Koc University - Turkey
Daniel Oi University of Strathclyde - United Kingdom
Yasser Omar Instituto Superior Técnico, University of Lisbon - Portugal
Sorin Paraoanu Aalto University - Finland
Mauro Paternostro Queen's University Belfast - United Kingdom
Emanuele Pelucchi Tyndall National Institute - Ireland
Marco Pezzutto Instituto De Telecomunicações and Instituto Superior Técnico, Universidade de Lisboa - Portugal
Mohsen Razavi University of Leeds - United Kingdom
Jelmer Renema Universiteit Twente - Netherlands
Serge Reynaud Laboratoire Kastler Brossel CNRS, ENS, UPMC, Collège de France - France
Stefan Riedl Airbus Defence and Space GmbH - Germany
Hannes Rotzinger Karlsruher Institut für Technologie - Germany
Albert Roura Ulm University - Germany
Sahar Sahebdivan University of Vienna - Austria
Bernhard Sang OHB System AG - Germany
Matteo Schiavon University of Padova - Italy
Stephan Schiller Heinrich-Heine-Universität Düsseldorf - Germany
Stephan Seidel Leibniz Universität Hannover - Germany
Rui Semide Lusospace Lda - Portugal
Zeki Seskir Middle East Technical University Physics Department - Turkey
Muzzamal Shaukat Instituto Superior Tecnico - Portugal
Katya Marinova Simeonova Institute of Mechanics, Bulgarian Academy of Sciences - Bulgaria
German Sinuco Department of Physics and Astronomy, University of Sussex - United Kingdom
Guglielmo M. Tino Università di Firenze, LENS, INFN - Italy
Geza Toth Wigner Research Centre for Physics - Hungary
Asli Tuncer Koc University - Turkey
Giuseppe Vallone University of Padova - Italia
Mathias Van Den Bossche Thales Alenia Space - France
Francesco Vedovato University of Padova - Italy
Paolo Villoresi University of Padova INF-CNR - Italy
David Vitali University of Camerino - Italia
Wolf von Klitzing IESL-FORTH - Greece
Harald Weinfurter University of Munich - Germany
Patrick Windpassinger JGU Mainz - Institute of Physics - Germany
Lisa Woerner ZARM / University Bremen - Germany
André Xuereb University of Malta - Malta
Hugo Zbinden GAP Quantum Technologies. University of Geneva - Switzerland
Yao Zhou Austrian Academy of Sciences - Institute for Quantum Optics and Quantum Information - Austria
Mario Ziman Institute of Physics Slovak Academy of Sciences - Slovakia
Zoltán Zimborás Wigner Research Centre for Physics - Hungary