WG3: Proof-of-principle experiments

Hendrik Ulbricht
University of Southampton

Vice Leader:
Philippe Bouyer
Institut d'Optique d'Aquitaine


There are three major experimental platforms at the moment: photons, cold atoms for matter-wave interferometry and atomic clocks, and levitated nanoparticles/optomechanics provide different opportunities for quantum technologies in space, while the technological readiness level (TRL) is one of the main credentials in order to qualify for a space mission at all. The TRL is very different for the different experimental platforms.

It is imperative for space that each quantum technology has passed relevant proof-of-principle experimental tests on ground. Within this Action, and specifically WG3, we aim to coordinate such experimental activities to optimise and accelerate the TRL of each platform, and thus pave the way to the specific orbit requirements to perform the desired experiments in space.

This could imply joining forces to work towards the demonstration of a matter-wave interferometer for nanoparticles on Earth – a later version of which should see full fruition if operated in space. WG3 will also coordinate the sharing of knowledge with respect to available technologies and experimental techniques for performing experiments in space-relevant settings. This will allow us to answer the question “What is the best technical solution to realise the experiment in space?”

Further we will be working to identify the option of joint missions with different technological platforms on the same spacecraft. 

Ideally WG3 will entail a joint approach between scientists and engineers at universities and space industries as well as at national and international space agencies. 



WG3 Members

Quinten Akkerman Italian Institute of Technology (IIT) - Italy
Aidan Arnold University of Strathclyde - UK
Marco Avesani Universita' degli studi di Padova - Italy
Peter Barker University College London - United Kingdom
Angelo Bassi University of Trieste - Italy
James Bateman Swansea University - UK
Robert Bedington Centre for Quantum Technologies - Singapore
David Edward Bruschi University of York - UK
Dmitry Bykov Institute for Experimental Physics, University of Innsbruck - Austria
Humeyra Caglayan Tampere University of Technology - Finland
Olivier Carraz RHEA for ESA - NL
Catalina Oana Curceanu LNF-INFN - Italy
Chris Dawson University of Swansea - UK
Daniele Dequal Agenzia Spaziale Italiana - Italy
Eleni Diamanti CNRS, Sorbonne Université - France
Francisco Diaz-Otero University of Vigo - Spain
Lajos Diosi Wigner Research Centre for Physics - Hungary
Bob Dirks TNO - The Netherlands
Pedro Duque Lusospace Lda - Portugal
Kadir Durak özyeğin university - Turkey
Omid Faizy Namarvar LPT-IRSAMC & CEMES-CNRS - France
Stefan Filipp IBM Research - Zurich - Switzerland
Matthias Fink Institute for Quantum Optics and Quantum Information - Vienna - Austria
Jaromir Fiurasek Palacky University Olomouc - Czech Republic
Naceur Gaaloul Institute of Quantum Optics / Leibniz University of Hanover - Germany
Santanu Ganguly Cisco Systems, Liverpool John Moores University - United Kingdom
Barry Garraway University of Sussex - UK
Giulio Gasbarri University of Trieste - Italy
Remi GEIGER SYRTE, Paris Observatory - France
Nicolas Gisin Group of Applied Physics University of Geneva Switzerland - Switzerland
Daniel Granados Fundacion IMDEA Nanociencia - Spain
Paul Griffin University of Strathclyde - United Kingdom
Mircea Guina Tampere University of Technology - Finland
S. Deniz Han İstanbul University - Turkey
Antoine Heidmann ENS and University Pierre and Marie Curie - France
Ronald Holzwarth Menlo Systems GmbH - Germany
Radu Ionicioiu Horia Hulubei National Institute of Physics and Nuclear Engineering (IFIN-HH) - Romania
Markku Jääskeläinen Mälardalen University - Sweden
Rainer Kaltenbaek Austrian Academy of Sciences - Austria
Simon Kanthak Humboldt University Berlin - Germany
Jean Lautier-Gaud Muquans - France
Bruno Leone European Space Agency - United Kingdom
Sabrina Maniscalco University of Turku - Finland
Jean Pierre Marburger JGU Mainz - Germany
Luca Mazzarella University of Strathclyde - UK
James Millen King's College London - UK
Gavin Morley University of Warwick - UK
Sebastian Philipp Neumann Institute for Quantum Optics and Quantum Information (Austrian Academy of Sciences) - Austria
Raffaele Nolli University of Birmingham - United Kingdom
Daniel Oi University of Strathclyde - United Kingdom
Yasser Omar Instituto Superior Técnico, University of Lisbon - Portugal
Tjerk Oosterkamp Leiden University - Netherlands
Sorin Paraoanu Aalto University - Finland
Emanuele Pelucchi Tyndall National Institute - Ireland
Achim Peters Humboldt Universität zu Berlin - Germany
Christopher Pugh University of Waterloo - Canada
Anishur Rahman UCL - United Kingdom
Andrey Rakhubovskiy Palacky University - Czech Republic
John Rarity University of Bristol - United Kingdom
Muddassar Rashid University of Southampton - United Kingdom
Mohsen Razavi University of Leeds - United Kingdom
Stefan Riedl Airbus Defence and Space GmbH - Germany
Erling Riis Strathclyde University - United Kingdom
Hannes Rotzinger Karlsruher Institut für Technologie - Germany
Albert Roura Ulm University - Germany
Dondu Sahin University of Bristol - United Kingdom
Bernhard Sang OHB System AG - Germany
Matteo Schiavon University of Padova - Italy
Stephan Seidel Leibniz Universität Hannover - Germany
Rui Semide Lusospace Lda - Portugal
André Stefanov University of Bern - Switzerland
Guglielmo M. Tino Università di Firenze, LENS, INFN - Italy
Geza Toth Wigner Research Centre for Physics - Hungary
Marius Trușculescu Institute of Space Science - Romania
Hendrik Ulbricht University of Southampton - UK
Mathias Van Den Bossche Thales Alenia Space - France
Francesco Vedovato University of Padova - Italy
Paolo Villoresi University of Padova INF-CNR - Italy
Andrea Vinante University of Southampton - United Kingdom
David Vitali University of Camerino - Italia
Wolf von Klitzing IESL-FORTH - Greece
Harald Weinfurter University of Munich - Germany
André Wenzlawski Johannes Gutenberg-University Mainz - Germany
George Winstone University of Southampton - United Kingdom
Lisa Woerner ZARM / University Bremen - Germany
Hugo Zbinden GAP Quantum Technologies. University of Geneva - Switzerland
Yao Zhou Austrian Academy of Sciences - Institute for Quantum Optics and Quantum Information - Austria