WG4: Implementations

Christoph Marquardt
Max Planck Institute for the Science of Light

Vice Leader:
Vladyslav Usenko
Palacky University


The studies and applications put forward and identified in the other Working Groups are tested in proof-of-principle experiments and finally have to be implemented in real space missions. Implementation in space hardware is a complex process that requires substantial coordination, which WG4 is aiming for. 

The process implies not only the discussion of concrete implementations of ideas that have been recognized in the other Working Groups. From the beginning there is a need to identify common challenges regarding technology needs and building up a network of available infrastructure both on the technical and on the management level. Already early in the design process one has to identify mission parameters and mission designs. 

The technology development that is required has to be performed in international collaboration between academia, national research institutes, space agencies and industrial partners. Hardware testing in space relevant environment (vibrations, radiation hardness, vacuum and temperature parameters) is costly and complex. Sharing experience and coordinating efforts thus is crucial. 

We will also focus on identifying funding opportunities and communicate with space agencies. Space implementations heavily rely on international collaboration. We will further broaden the support by international researchers and their respective national space agencies beyond the European level. Finally it will be important to determine and coordinate technology-development and mission-proposal opportunities. Here we will communicate with industry and space agencies and identify synergetic effects. 

QTSpace enables the unique opportunity to find out common technological platforms and methods that can be developed jointly for the different scientific fields ranging from optical quantum communication to cold-atom interferometry, optomechanics or optical atomic clocks. Joint development and implementation technologies will reduce cost and make missions feasible by combining technology in a single payload. Towards these goals the working group is organizing meetings, workshops and training schools. 



WG4 Members

Aidan Arnold University of Strathclyde - UK
Marco Avesani Universita' degli studi di Padova - Italy
Peter Barker University College London - United Kingdom
Angelo Bassi University of Trieste - Italy
James Bateman Swansea University - UK
Ömer Bayraktar Max Planck Institute for the Science of Light - Germany
Erik Beckert Fraunhofer IOF - Germany
Robert Bedington Centre for Quantum Technologies - Singapore
Cristian Bonato Heriot-Watt University - UK
Jean-Philippe Bourgoin Institute for Quantum Computing, University of Waterloo - Canada
Félix Bussières University of Geneva - ID Quantique - Switzerland
Olivier Carraz RHEA for ESA - NL
Catalina Oana Curceanu LNF-INFN - Italy
Daniele Dequal Agenzia Spaziale Italiana - Italy
Eleni Diamanti CNRS, Sorbonne Université - France
Aline Dinkelaker Humboldt-Universität zu Berlin - Germany
Bob Dirks TNO - The Netherlands
Pedro Duque Lusospace Lda - Portugal
Omid Faizy Namarvar LPT-IRSAMC & CEMES-CNRS - France
Matthias Fink Institute for Quantum Optics and Quantum Information - Vienna - Austria
Naceur Gaaloul Institute of Quantum Optics / Leibniz University of Hanover - Germany
Barry Garraway University of Sussex - UK
Jens Grosse University Bremen & DLR Bremen - Germany
S. Deniz Han İstanbul University - Turkey
Ronald Holzwarth Menlo Systems GmbH - Germany
Radu Ionicioiu Horia Hulubei National Institute of Physics and Nuclear Engineering (IFIN-HH) - Romania
Rainer Kaltenbaek Austrian Academy of Sciences - Austria
Jean Lautier-Gaud Muquans - France
Bruno Leone European Space Agency - United Kingdom
Vadim Makarov University of Waterloo - Canada
Jean Pierre Marburger JGU Mainz - Germany
Marco Mariola University of KwaZulu-Natal - South Africa
Christoph Marquardt Max Planck Institute for the Science of Light - Germany
Luca Mazzarella University of Strathclyde - UK
Florian Moll German Aerospace Center (DLR) - Germany
Gavin Morley University of Warwick - UK
Daniel Oi University of Strathclyde - United Kingdom
Christoph Pacher Austrian Institute of Technology GmbH - Austria
Emanuele Pelucchi Tyndall National Institute - Ireland
Christopher Pugh University of Waterloo - Canada
John Rarity University of Bristol - United Kingdom
Dondu Sahin University of Bristol - United Kingdom
Bernhard Sang OHB System AG - Germany
Matteo Schiavon University of Padova - Italy
Stephan Seidel Leibniz Universität Hannover - Germany
Rui Semide Lusospace Lda - Portugal
Niccolo Somaschi Quandela - France
Guglielmo M. Tino Università di Firenze, LENS, INFN - Italy
Vladyslav Usenko Palacky University in Olomouc - Czech Republic
Tristan Valenzuela-Salazar STFC - United Kingdom
Giuseppe Vallone University of Padova - Italia
Mathias Van Den Bossche Thales Alenia Space - France
Francesco Vedovato University of Padova - Italy
Paolo Villoresi University of Padova INF-CNR - Italy
Wolf von Klitzing IESL-FORTH - Greece
Harald Weinfurter University of Munich - Germany
André Wenzlawski Johannes Gutenberg-University Mainz - Germany
Zoltán Zimborás Wigner Research Centre for Physics - Hungary